Music in Film Picks

Okay so I decided to give you a list of some of my favorite music from film.

This scene in Game of Thrones was intense but the composer, Ramin Djawadi, made this fit the scene so perfectly. I don’t even have the words to explain how amazing this is. The way it builds is just glorious and if you have actually seen this episode you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t watched Game of Thrones you need to get on that. Either way its a beautiful piece and worth listening to. The ending is superb.

Ghostbusters…….how can I not put this song in here. It is so iconic you automatically know what it is before he even starts singing. Plus its super catchy (I will now be singing this for the next week and a half most likely) not to mention the “I ain’t afraid of no ghost!” gets me every time. It is super cheesy but it fit the movie so well and it’s such a recognizable song. WHO YA GUNNA CALL?

Up next is Moon River sang by the lovely Audrey Hepburn and written by Johnny Mercer and Henry Mancini. They specifically wrote it to fit her. This song has been covered by like everyone but I have an Audrey obsession so I will fight you if you disagree that this is the best version. Written for the movie Breakfast at Tiffany’s of course.

If you know your 80s bands and someone brings up Simple Minds this song is what you think of. The Breakfast Club is an awesome movie but the fact that if you hear this song all you can see is the iconic fist in the air on the football field by Judd Nelson puts it on this list.

Kenny Loggins who was born in Everett, Wa in case you didn’t know, did awesome on this song. Plus the saxophone at the end is awesome. Just a great movie and a great song.

This song is known by anyone who listens to hip hop or rap and was in the movie Dangerous Minds which was about the struggles of inner city youth. By the way kids this is what hip hop and rap is supposed to be about Black Beatles is garbage compared to this so educate yourself and go listen to some Tupac or something when rap was actually good and stood for more than just condoning drugs and hoes. end rant. But anyways this is a great song.

Okay…..Django. This isn’t my favorite Quentin Tarantino movie by far but Luis Bacalov did an awesome job with this soundtrack…….not Tarantino’s……..the 1966 Italian/Spanish spaghetti-western film. Tricked ya. Tarantino used this song in his as well but this was the only Bacalov piece he did keep. Check out the 1966 movie.

A Summer Place theme…….I have never seen this movie……but somehow I know it…..that is all I have for you….Trying to find this was excruciating because I didn’t know what movie it belonged to and it has no words to go off of, but I know the tune somehow it is etched into my brain.

You may be asking “Why did she put the entire soundtrack on this one when before she was only doing specific pieces?” Well because this is fucking gold and you need to hear it. This is probably my favorite horror movie soundtrack of all time. Goblin (Italian Prog Rock Band) and Dario Argento got together and created this and oh my goodness I love it. I don’t even know what to say its just dark , sinister, unholy goodness that everyone needs to experience.

Next is just John Williams. Jaws, Star Wars, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Catch Me If You Can, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Saving Private Ryan, Home Alone, Schindler’s List, Jurassic Park, E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial, Superman, The Poseidon Adventure… I don’t have a video for you because I cant pick just one. Such a composer and he contributed to so many films….dude just look at that list! Need I say more?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

