Saturday’s Playlist! 2/25/2017

Okay guys! I have had a lovely Saturday and I hope you all are too. I spent most of my day doing laundry and cleaning which of course means I have had to numb the tedium with music. These are not Washington based but listen to them and expand your musical knowledge a bit!

First off is Coby Grant’s cover of the Portishead song Glorybox. Coby is Australian and started playing and singing at 16. I like this version because its a bit more laid back.

Next we are totally going to shift gears and switch into some Megadeth. If you don’t already know Megadeth is a thrash metal band from California  this certainly isn’t their most popular song but its one of my personal favorites. the song is She Wolf of the Cryptic Writings album which was released the year of my birth actually which was 1997. Check it out!

This song is by Margot and the Nuclear So & So’s (which is a bad ass name but kinda long.) This lovely sort of chamber pop band is from Indiana. I can’t tell you how I found this song because I do not remember but this song (Broadripple is Burning) is probably my favorite of theirs. It was released on the Not an Animal album in 2008.

Now I had to throw this song in because it is my go to cleaning song because it’s fun to jam out to but also you can totally just space out as well. Black Sabbath- War Pigs! It is the opening song on the 1970 album Paranoid. Originally the song was going to be called Walpurgis coming from the Germanic folklore of Walpurgisnacht which is basically “witches’ night” and is believed to be the night of a witches’ meeting on the Brocken, the highest peak in the Harz Mountains, a mountain range in Germany. I think that is pretty bad ass but they decided it sounded too satanic and changed it to war pigs. It was a shout out about war and the rich benefiting and even starting wars for poor people to fight so they can make money. Damn, fuel your fire and rock out!

Allen Stone does this lovely cover of Sex & Candy which is originally a Marcy Playground song. Both versions are good but very different Stone’s version is very raw and honestly in parts he sounds like shit but somehow he makes it work, the Marcy Playground  version is off their debut self-titled album from 1997. Marcy Playground is an Alt. rock band New York City. I recommend you check out both versions and definitely watch the music video for the Marcy Playground version its trippy.

This next song is so good. Let’s Take a Walk by Raphael Saadiq. This is my dance with a broom and lip-sync in my underwear song. I originally heard it on the Cadillac Records movie soundtrack and have been obsessed with it ever since. Saadiq was in the band Tony! Toni! Toné! but eventually started a solo career. He mainly does old school R&B and i think he is super groovy. This is my favorite song of his undoubtedly.

Anna Clendening really highlights social media in this song and it is fabulous. “we post perfect pictures so no one knows we are hurt but oh we are living a lie.” The song is titled The Weekend off her 2016 album called Unfiltered. I really like this song, it highlights one of the biggest topics today and gracefully highlights the façade. My younger sister Claire showed me this song and I am very grateful she did.

Okay…..Marvin Gaye can make even cleaning fun, you can’t be blue and listen to this song. Lets Get It On 1973. Need I say more?

Pop music isn’t really my favorite but this damn song has been stuck in my head for like weeks and its pissing me off so here it is. Meghan Trainor-Watch Me Do off the 2016 Thank You album. I was hoping if I just listened to it a lot it would go away but yeah…it didn’t…..save me….

The Fratellis-Henrietta (2006, Costello Music), this song is another song I have to jam out anytime I hear it. The Fratellis are an indie/alt rock band from Glasgow, Scotland and I absolutely adore them. Check them out!!!!!

I decided to top this off with some Queens Of The Stone Age. They are a rock band from California and this song, No One Knows, is off the Songs for the Deaf album which was released in 2002. The album features some cool guests so check it out.

Those were my top songs of the day. Have a lovely weekend and if you have any music you made or just know about hit me up and show me because I always like to find new music! Bye!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

